My insensitivity toward abortion

Something I’d like to work on is learning to be more sensitive to women who experience negative feelings when they choose to have an abortion.  It’s something I’ve never really understood.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read the tragic stories of women who had to terminate a pregnancy for health reasons when they wanted and loved their coming child.  I understand that’s a devastating situation, and I feel empathy for those women and their families.  What I’ve never understood, though, is women who know they don’t want to or can’t keep the baby, and for some reason, they still feel sad about having an abortion.

Maybe part of it is because I can’t relate to the idea of a “wanted pregnancy.”  I hate kids and never want to have them or even be in the general vicinity of them.  Abortion, for me, is a no-brainer.  But I’ve never been pregnant, never had an abortion.  Hell, I’ve never even taken a pregnancy test, because even when my period is late, I just don’t care.  If I got pregnant, it would just mean another doctor’s appointment.*

Not all women feel that way, though, and I want to become more sympathetic in that regard.  There’s no right or wrong way to feel about having an abortion, and sadness is a very legitimate feeling, regardless of the circumstances.  I recognize this, so I am going to start working to become more sensitive toward the issue.

 

*Privilege check: I have health insurance and live in a progressive, major metropolitan area.  Many women can’t access abortion or other reproductive services as easily as I can.

Leave a Reply

